The five-man judging panel is chaired by former routeone Editor Mike Morgan and includes Steve Dewhurst, Chris Heaps, Tony Kennan, Peter Nash and Kevin Wood.


Mike Morgan steered routeone from its launch in 2003 to its market-leading position when he stepped down in 2014. He launched the routeone awards in 2015.


Steve Dewhurst was Managing Director of Volvo Bus for eight years until he retired in 2013. This is his third year as a judge.


Chris Heaps is a long-standing routeone Awards judge. From 1997 to 2000 he was the Traffic Commissioner for the Western Traffic Area, moving to the South Eastern & Metropolitan Traffic Area between 2000 and 2007.


Tony Kennan continues as a judge for a fifth year. He was one of the founding directors of The Proudmutual Transport Group, which was established on 6 March 1987 with a view to acquiring parts of the privatised National Bus Company.


Peter Nash is now in his sixth year as a judge. Formerly Commercial Director of Busways Travel Services Ltd, sold to Stagecoach in 1994, in 1999 he became Head of Commercial Policy for Stagecoach UK Bus.


Kevin Wood spent his working life in coach sales, spending the last 24 years with Plaxton at Scarborough. He was a member of the management buyout team that saved Plaxton in the wake of parent company Mayflower going into administration in 2004. Plaxton was subsequently sold to Alexander Dennis and Kevin became Sales Director until taking partial retirement in 2014. This is his second year as a routeone Awards judge.

Mike Morgan

Steve Dewhurst

Chris Heaps

Tony Kennan

Peter Nash

Kevin Wood